It’s a love/hate sorta thing

Working retail can really have its up and downs, and this weekend has proven to me why I have a love/hate relationship with my job.

For the most part, I try to be optimistic about my job and approach each day differently than the last but Saturday was a real killer for me. It was my first day back to work at this crazy busy mall since the holiday break and I was already dreading having to close the store that night. My sales were a joke, my motivation was lacking to say the least and my frustration was at its highest peak. Hate.

And working and dealing with women all day is impossible sometimes. I am, in my opinion, a genuinely nice person, but sometimes I want nothing more than to rip the lady’s hair out. And Saturday was no exception. I approached a woman, who I would guess to be in her late 30’s, as she was looking at jeans. Being the nice person that I am, I asked her if she was finding the right size and style that she was looking for. Her reaction: “Ugh, I’m not in the mood right now,” in a snotty voice and walked out of the store. Not only did that woman mess up our conversion for the day, she also put me in one of the crappiest moods I have ever had while at work. Sometimes I just feel useless. Hate.

Then there are little glimmers of hope that keep me going. Today for instance, I was helping a lady and her mother find some jeans. After about and hour and a half of shopping with them they said to me, “Thank you so much, we both really appreciate your help. You’ve been the best help that we have ever had.” Statements like these make all the other rude comments disappear momentarily. Love.

At times I question why I put myself through this up and down enviornment.I reassure myself that when hate moments come, a love moment is right around the corner to pick me up again. Retail is just like many other aspects of life; the good and the bad all come and go as they please. It’s a love/hate sorta thing but that’s the sorta thing that keeps me motivated.

Happy shopping,

Sherri

3 responses to “It’s a love/hate sorta thing

  1. Great topic, Sherri! This will be fun, and I look forward to reading.

    Jane

  2. I love and hate my job too. It is hard to find a balance.

  3. It’s so hard to make it seem worth it at times when you work in retail! I feel ya!

Leave a Reply

