Ladies, leave your men at home

I can’t help but feel sorry for men who shop with the women in their lives. Especially, when shopping involves trying on numerous outfits.

Everyday at work I see the same scenario play out: A guy gets dragged into his significant others favorite clothing store without knowing what exactly he has gotten himself into. He may think he’s out for a casual day of shopping with the lady, but he’s terribly mistaken.

Not only will his lady friend ask him for his opinion on EVERYTHING she tries on, she will make him sit in the fitting room area, that’s adorned with feminine decorations, while waiting for her to finish. We have an area in my store that’s dubbed the men’s waiting area, complete with comfy chairs, pretty pillows and the latest women’s magazines; how cute.

I can’t even imagine how those guys feel when they shop with their women. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

Happy shopping,

Sherri

5 responses to “Ladies, leave your men at home

  1. I have actually experienced the vice versa of this and never have dragged a man with me unless he was my best gay guy friend! (But he loved it!) On several occasions I was begged by a boyfriend to go shopping with him. I went tie and suit shopping once…. I thought, “hmm that’ll be easy…” But nooooo it was a few hours of “what about this tie?” “does this match my suit?” “too dark, too light?” Ay!

  2. I’ve been there on a number of occasions lol.

    Luckily, for me, most of the women I’ve dated never did take as much time to go shopping around for clothes as other women sometimes do. They realized I’d get bored and did most of their actual clothes shopping either by themselves or with their friends on a different day.

    There was only the one time, though, where it took a bit longer. I eventually ended up telling her I was going to go to my own store and that she can meet up with me there. My girlfriend at the time didn’t have a problem with it. It gave her more time to herself to contemplate on buying that snazzy new outfit without having to look at her bored boyfriend.

    I blame the guys, though, just as much as the women in these cases. If the guys are bored with their significant other’s shopping time, they just need to say, “I’m going to go _______ and I’ll meet you there.” They need to speak up.

    It needs to be just as fun for the guy as it is for the woman; even if it means them going to their separate stores for a while.

  3. Pingback: Don’t get me wrong, I love kids « Retail Therapy

  4. I totally want a personal bag holder!

  5. I don’t understand why women drag them along when they dislike hearing their men griping about the entire shopping session anyways?

Leave a Reply

