Retail bonding

I’ve come to realize that mall workers have their own confined social network.

On my way in to work today, I stopped to wave or say hi to someone in nearly every store on the way to mine. It’s like an un-written rule or something.

Not only that, but when other mall workers come in and shop at my store I feel the need to make small talk about business or how busy the mall is that day; something along those lines.

It’s actually really strange and awkward now that I look back on these occurrences.

Happy shopping,

Sherri

5 responses to “Retail bonding

  1. I know what you mean. You must be in a really small town, however, working in the mall you often see the same working faces and know the person working across the hall is just about as miserable as you. You’ll get customers who light up your night and other ones who make you really question why on earth you deal with that for minimum wage.

    • Small towns are good for that Kelli, but I have a feeling it’s a common bond across the board. You couldn’t have put it any better. Have you ever worked retail or at a mall?

  2. I know what you mean Sherri. I too work in the mall and it is weird that we all pretend to know each other but in reality I don’t even know their names!

  3. So funny–I always look into the store next door before heading into work to wave at the girls in there!

Leave a Reply

